Case of the Month

• January 2019
    January 2019 by Dr. John Bunkers Please Note:This website is best viewed with the latest versions of all browsers. If you are having issues viewing this, or…
  1. Carol
  2. Uncategorized
  3. Wednesday, 21 June 2017
hi,

I have this young lady coming for a treatment presentation and I have my doubts about clear aligners being the best treatment in this case. I have limited experience with braces but from what I understand you can move posterior teeth forward with better predictability than aligners. This patient already has retruded lips, so not sure that 4-5mm of retraction is going to help her. She's going to look 70! So my questions are:
Would you recommend aligner therapy
Would you leave spaces (ie behind canines)
Do you think closing all the spaces will leave the patient with less lip support or do you think it will be negligible?
I'd love to hear your thoughts
Attachments (1)
Comment
There are no comments made yet.
Carol Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Votes
Undo
Carol wrote:
hi,

I have this young lady coming for a treatment presentation and I have my doubts about clear aligners being the best treatment in this case. I have limited experience with braces but from what I understand you can move posterior teeth forward with better predictability than aligners. This patient already has retruded lips, so not sure that 4-5mm of retraction is going to help her. She's going to look 70! So my questions are:
Would you recommend aligner therapy
Would you leave spaces (ie behind canines)
Do you think closing all the spaces will leave the patient with less lip support or do you think it will be negligible?
I'd love to hear your thoughts
Attachments (1)
Comment
  1. more than a month ago
  2. Uncategorized
  3. # 1
Votes
Undo
Some more pictures
Attachments (1)
Comment
  1. more than a month ago
  2. Uncategorized
  3. # 2
Votes
Undo
Profile picture
Attachments (1)
Comment
  1. more than a month ago
  2. Uncategorized
  3. # 3